Reflections on ENGL 119

Today is July 17th, 2017. Two and a half months ago, we were in our first ENGL 119 lecture, meeting Sara and everyone else for the first time. While I am typing this last blog post, I cannot stop reflecting on the learning experience in the last few months and thinking about if there is anything I could have done better or want to keep doing.

reflection-s1llcr11

During this term, we have completed a variety of writing and speaking tasks for very different purposes, including:

  • Email
  • Blog posts
  • TED talk
  • Proposal
  • Final report

 

By trying to meet different communication requirements, I have become a more well-rounded communicator. These assignments are also designed to be applicable and relevant in the real life, for example, writing an email to one’s supervisor, giving a presentation and submitting a proposal for a potential project. I find it very enjoyable and beneficial by completing these tasks and find myself learning something new every single time.

 

However, the assignment I enjoyed the most and got the most out of is the TED talk assignment. I used to be terrified of public speaking, but thanks to the friendly class environment and helpful teammates, I was able to overcome the fear and deliver the speech confidently. Through this TED talk, I have not only accomplished the goal I set for myself at the beginning of the term – to improve public speaking skills, my self-confidence also increases because of the success of the TED talk.

building-self-confidence-8-638

 

Apart from so many things I have learned from this course, there are things I wish I could have done better as well. For example, I hope I could have participated in the in-class discussions more actively. Even though I am a rather introverted person who does not tend to speak up, I should still contribute more ideas to potentially create a more interactive learning experience for everyone in the class.

Contribute

 

As the quote by Jane Green goes, “writing is a muscle that needs to be exercised every day: The more you write, the easier it becomes”. Lots of practice is needed to maintain or even improve your writing skills. After this course is done, apart from daily communication with others, I am planning to do some extra writing every week to “exercise the muscle”. Some potential ideas include opening a professional blog to talk about the tech and finance industry (which I have a bit of expertise in), writing reviews for books/movies/tourist attractions and answering questions on Quora. Hopefully, I can do one or two of them every week and gradually build up my writing muscles.

muscle_brain

In the end, I want to thank Sara for designing and delivering such an amazing offering of ENGL 119(hope you enjoyed teaching it for the last time!) I also want to thank everyone in this class for creating a positive and friendly learning environment. I think ENGL 119 is an excellent communication course for students in Mathematics and Computer Science to sharpen their communication skills. It would have helped me so much in early co-op terms if I had taken it in second year rather than fourth year.

This course has come to an end, but as the saying goes, “Every ending is just a new beginning”. I sincerely wish everyone in the class all the best in the future!

8612130336_f25959c8e5_o

 

1 Comment

  1. I really hope you do keep up with your writing and start a blog. Not only will it help you exercise your writing muscles but also represent you as a professional. Great idea and thanks for all your hard work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

