Ted blues

tedNow the dust has settle on the Ted Talk, it’s time for some reflections. Overall, I thought my performance wasn’t as good as I’d hoped for while being satisfactory. But I intend to take some extra insight with me into life after English 119 that I stumbled across during the process. The Ted Talk taught me a lot about leadership, which is unexpected to say the least. Our topics were all very carefully thought out and it was difficult to choose my favorite one.  And let me get this straight: chances to fail like this is rare. To fail with managing relationship with my group mates could prove fatal to a future project, even my career. I am grateful towards my teammates, since their disagreement taught me beyond the scope of the assignment, and it helped me come to embrace the kind of person I am.

  1. Leadership requires all three rhetorical appeals to work, that’s your ethos, pathos and logos from the rhetorical triangle
  2. I probably failed at pathos to start, since everyone was more concerned about their exams at the beginning, and when I turned my attention towards that too, my ethos went out the window.
  3. After that it was everyone for themselves, as I was deemed untrustworthy in the eyes of our team.
  4. Giving out advice is good, but too much is bad, especially qualitative concerns that could be taken as condescension or personal bias.
  5. Good night’s sleep would have gone a long way to ensure a better performance.

About the talks themselves I have nothing but praise. The topics were well developed and delivered very eloquently. Some of our Ted speakers had me mistaken them for professional speakers coming to give a speech about something we should know, and I took notes as they were giving out valuable information. I think not only were those speakers skillful at public speaking, the work put into the presentations were respectable as well.

1r6d9d

The more I fail at leadership and inter-personal relationship management, the more important communication classes means to me.

One of the interesting observations I had regarding our talks were how our speakers were often “in character”. And by that, I mean we take on roles that are not students presenting ideas to students. Rather, our speakers were all very confident in their knowledge of the topic and were very persuasive. I felt like the money masters might as well be a team of speakers from a financial institution, our code monkeys from a computer science school and so on. It was so cool because I can finally see the light: We are approaching the levels that could disguise as actually adults in the working world.

 

1 Comment

  1. I liked your last line about being “disguised” as adults, Have you heard of impostor syndrome? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impostor_syndrome. I think you might have it (along with much of the class, I imagine). You are right, failure is a good thing, especially here in 119 where you can fail with little in the way of consequences. I am very glad you see it that way. Personally, I thought you did a good job with your talk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

