Growing Up Sucks!

Have you ever been asked: What do you want to be when you grow up?

Well, I’m pretty sure everyone has been asked this, or at least thought about it. This question is probably one of the hardest questions to answer. In fact, this question literally screams “Growing Up Sucks! ! !

I was first asked this question when I was in kindergarten. I didn’t even know how to pronounce my teacher’s last name, and I’m already asked to decide my future… I didn’t want to embarrass myself, so I said something silly like wanting to become a Pokemon master! ( In the end, I guess I really did embarrass myself…- {insert sad face} )

My life at that time, was very simple. I was able to recite the Pokemon theme song (only a little bit), and I also remembered most of the names of the first generation Pokemons.

  • Pikachu
  • Squirtle
  • Bulbasaur
  • Charmander
  • and etc…

Anyhow, as I continued to mature, it struck me one day that if I continued to stroll down this path, I would end up becoming a jobless 40 year old that still lives with my parents. That was not a beautiful sight at all, and I do not wish to burden my family!

40year.jpg

So What Do I Want to Be When I Grow Up?

To be quite honest, I am not sure myself. However, I do have a general idea of what I enjoy doing and what I do not.

Things I enjoy doing:

  • playing video games
  • watching cartoons
  • playing volleyball
  • eating
  • sleeping
  • coding

Things I dislike doing:

  • going to class
  • washing dishes

From this list, one can infer that I am lazy and that I hate school. That is TRUE!

However, I do not wish to disappoint my parents. As I am from a second generation immigrant family, my parents have always wanted the best for me. They simply just want me to live a comfortable life where money is not an issue.

I am actually glad that my parents are happy with whatever career path that I want to pursue. They aren’t the stereotypical asian parents that only want their kids to be a doctor or engineer.

china_meme

This meme really speaks out to a lot of people. In fact, I have several friends that have followed a career that was forced upon them. A career path should not be chosen for someone, rather I believe that a career path should be something that an individual chooses on their own.

I believe that the right way to rephrase this question, would be to ask: Where do you see yourself in X years? Where X can be any positive number.

This is because people’s perception for what they want to be changes. Overtime, people overcome different challenges, go through different experiences, and they also get bored of what they are doing. Hence, why many people choose to change their careers.

Where Do I See Myself In 10 Years?

I have chosen 10 because I think that 10 is a great value for looking at long term goals.

I am currently at the University of Waterloo, doing my undergraduate in Honours Computer Science Co-Op. I have completed 3 co-op terms in total, and I would like to say that I really enjoy the tech field.

Before entering university, I had no prior coding experience. In addition, I also had no idea about where I wanted to go in life. I am really glad that I have pushed myself out of my comfort zone to try something new.

In 10 years, I see myself as a successful software engineer working at a company that embodies who I am as a person. What I mean is:

  • I will not be working 9-5
  • I will not be sucking up to a higher up manager
  • I will not be micromanaged
  • I will be able to leave work whenever I want
  • I will take pride in my work
  • I will have a sense of ownership

Through my previous co-op experiences, I have learned to say no to big corporate companies, and to say yes to start-ups!startup.png

Working in a corporate company, each employee is just a cog in the wheel. The culture is non existent, and you can be replaced in no time. In addition, there are a lot of rules that prevent people from being themselves.

However, at a start-up company, you are one individual who is creating a huge impact on the company. The culture is amazing, and you are free to be yourself!

Communication Skills Needed For A Software Engineer

As a software engineer, I believe that communication skills are very important. Although software engineers do not spend most of their time verbally speaking, they do spend most of their time writing code.

It is important that the code written is clean and well documented. Nobody wants to read ugly code, nor do they want to read code that they do not understand. The key is to keep things simple. Trust me, simple and clean is the way to go!

code.png

Aside from coding, it is also important to be open minded. In a world with so many people, and so many different ways to solve a problem, it would be problematic if not all cases are considered. Hence, an open minded organization is able to adapt and grow more rapidly! In contrast, a more stubborn and less willing to change organization will fall behind and possibly end up extinct.

For ex) Blackberry…

blackberry.jpg

Another reason why I love the tech field is that if I do something inefficiently or wrong, I will be corrected by my peers! I am constantly learning from my mistakes, and also learning new things. In fact, the tech industry is growing very rapidly. Before you know it, if you don’t keep up, your development skills may become outdated!!!

Lastly, I’d also like to mention that, it is very important to maintain positive relationships with co-workers. You will be spending most of your day at the office, you might as well enjoy the people you are working with. That’s where communication skills come in!

Always keep a positive attitude, never put others down, and try to get to know everyone in the office! You never know, you might find a lot of similarities with your co-workers, and that’s where new bonds and long lasting friendships are made!

Thanks for reading! Until next time~

1 Comment

  1. Haha! Wo wants to grow up!!! Not me and I play Pokemon (yes, I do, on an doff – one year anniversary coming up! Woohoo!). You are right a career can be fun and rewarding. Growing up jus t means being respectful and responsible. It doesn’t mean the end of fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

